(e.g. yourname@email.com)

Forgot Password?

    Or login with Facebook

    3rd SFG (Airborne) Receive Valor Awards



    Courtesy Story

    1st Special Forces Command (Airborne)

    FORT BRAGG, N.C. – In the second largest award ceremony since the reactivation of the 3rd Special Forces Group (Airborne), thirty-seven soldiers were recognized for their valorous actions in combat in Afghanistan, in a ceremony, Feb 25, at the John F. Kennedy Auditorium.

    Five soldiers from 3rd SFG (A) received the Silver Star, 19 soldiers received the Bronze Star with Valor device, 18 soldiers will receive the Army Commendation Medal with Valor device, and five soldiers received the Purple Heart.

    During the ceremony, four battles involving members of the Group were highlighted in vingnettes presented by a team member who witnessed and recounted what occurred and the actions performed by each man receiving a medal. One engagement with enemy forces led to the entire Operational Detachment’s receipt of an award for his heroic actions during a firefight.

    The U.S. Army Special Operations Command deputy commanding general, Maj. Gen. Kurt Fuller and the 3rd Special Forces Group (Airborne) commander, Col. Mark Schwartz presented the awards to each Soldier.

    Schwartz said during his remarks at the ceremony that it not the nature of the members of the Special Forces Regiment to seek recognition for their actions in combat.

    "Every valor award recipient who came across the stage today will tell you they are simply doing their job," Schwartz said. "As your commander, there is no greater honor than to recognize these men. All of them are warriors who represent the finest caliber of non-commissioned officers and officers that make up the ranks of our (Special Forces) group."

    The following service members received awards for valor during the ceremony.

    Bronze Star with Valor Device:

    Capt. Timothy Driscoll
    Staff Sgt. James Benjamin
    Capt. Patrick Macri
    Staff Sgt. Robert Bradford
    Warrant Officer Joe Vasquez
    Staff Sgt. Benjamin Geesaman
    Master Sgt. Sean Berk
    Master Sgt. Mike Vetra
    Sgt. 1st Class Benjamin Burt
    Staff Sgt. Brett Grossini
    Staff Sgt. Eoin Oriada
    Sgt. 1st Class Charles Garland
    Sgt. 1st Class Daniel Plants
    Staff Sgt. Casey Parker
    Sgt. 1st Class James Rooney
    Staff Sgt. Justin Schafer
    Sgt. 1st Class Raymond Ysasaga
    Staff Sgt. David Stearns
    Staff Sgt. Jamon A. Tibbs
    Staff Sgt. Timothy Walsh

    Purple Heart:

    Capt. Timothy Driscoll
    Staff Sgt. Grant Derrick
    Chief Warrant Officer 2 Jason Myers
    Staff Sgt. Van Meredith
    Sgt. 1st Class Dereck Strickland

    Army Commendation Medal with Valor Device:

    Capt. Timothy Driscoll
    Sgt. 1st Class Mark Pawlewicz
    Capt. Matthew Golsteyn
    Sgt. 1st Daniel Plants
    Sgt. Major Patrick Rotsaert
    Sgt. 1st Class Eric Wagmer
    Master Sgt. Lani Ringeisen
    Staff Sgt. Jeffery Carroll
    Sgt. 1st Class Charles Garland
    Staff Sgt. Benjamin Geesaman
    Sgt. 1st Class Charles Jones
    Staff Sgt. Silas Palance
    Sgt. 1st Class Robert Martin
    Staff Sgt. Casey Parker
    Sgt. 1st Class Christopher
    Sgt. Sean Tapia

    The Silver Star Medal is awarded in recognition of a valorous act performed during combat operations while under direct fire from enemy forces. It may also denote an accomplishment of a heroic nature in direct support of operations against an enemy force.



    Date Taken: 02.25.2011
    Date Posted: 02.28.2011 15:23
    Story ID: 66235
    Location: FORT BRAGG, AL, US

    Web Views: 339
    Downloads: 0
    Podcast Hits: 0