(e.g. yourname@email.com)

Forgot Password?

    Or login with Facebook

    Submarine Force – Pacific Fleet Sailors of the Year Announced



    Story by Petty Officer 1st Class Ronald Gutridge 

    Commander, Submarine Squadron 11

    SAN DIEGO – The 2018 Submarine Force Pacific Sailors of the Year (SOY) for sea and shore command were announced, Feb. 12, following a week of events where 10 SOY candidates representing various commands from the Pacific submarine community competed for the distinguished title.

    The 2018 Sea Sailor of the Year was awarded to Electricians Mate (Nuclear) 1st Class Ryan Helms from the Los Angeles-class fast-attack submarine USS Key West (SSN 722).

    The 2018 Shore Sailor of the Year was awarded to Hospital Corpsman 1st Class Matthew Biecker from Commander, Submarine Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet.

    Also selected as Sea Sailor of the Year finalists in the competition were: Machinist Mate (Nuclear) 1st Class Michael Ervin from the Virginia-class fast-attack submarine USS Illinois (SSN 786), Hospital Corpsman 1st Class Corbin Lefebvre from the Seawolf-class fast-attack submarine USS Connecticut (SSN 22), Sonar Technician (Submarine) 1st Class Patrick Myers from the Los Angeles-class fast-attack submarine USS Tucson (SSN 770), and Machinist Mate (non-nuclear, submarine weapons) 1st Class Steven Scott from the Ohio-class ballistic missile submarine USS Henry M. Jackson (SSBN 730) (BLUE).

    Finalists for the Shore Sailor of the Year finalists in the competition were: Mass Communication Specialists 1st Class Amanda Gray from Commander, Submarine Group 9, Navy Career Counselor 1st Class Rodney Jones from Commander, Submarine Squadron 15, Sonar Technician (Submarine) 1st Class Kyle Price from Commander, Submarine Squadron 11, and Naval Air Crewman 1st Class Jerry Schatz.
    Candidates were honored during a luncheon where Rear Adm. Daryl Caudle, commander, Submarine Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet, spoke as the guest speaker.

    “There is no question we have the best submarines, supporting technology, reliable equipment, and lethal weapons systems in the world; but these incredible warfighting tools do not come alive without highly trained and motivated Sailors, like the ones you see here today; Sailors who expertly operate these systems and deliver their many capabilities,” said Caudle.

    Both the Sea and Shore Sailor of the Year winners will go on to represent the Pacific Submarine Force in the Commander, Pacific Fleet Sailor of the Year competition.

    “Fortunately, we are blessed with extraordinary levels of talent across our Force,” said Caudle. “With such a large talent pool it makes it all the more impressive that the Sailors being recognized here this afternoon are truly the ‘best of the best.’”

    In 1972, Admiral Elmo Zumwalt initiated the Navy-wide Sailor of the Year program to provide recognition to the Navy’s outstanding Sailors through numerous presentations, awards, and ultimately, for our senior Sailor’s: Meritorious Advancement to the rank of Chief Petty Officer.

    “As the Pacific Submarine Force Sailors of the Year, you have earned the distinction of being recognized at the very top of this already elite group of Sailors. You should be very proud of this significant accomplishment and know that your Navy and your Nation are extremely proud of you,” concluded Caudle.



    Date Taken: 02.12.2019
    Date Posted: 02.22.2019 17:51
    Story ID: 311711
    Location: SAN DIEGO, CA, US 

    Web Views: 204
    Downloads: 0
    Podcast Hits: 0