(e.g. yourname@email.com)

Forgot Password?

    Or login with Facebook

    Alaska receives Battenberg Cup



    Story by Petty Officer 1st Class Rex Nelson 

    Commander, Submarine Group Ten

    KINGS BAY, Ga. – Commander, U.S. Fleet Forces Command announced via naval message May 18 that the Ohio-class ballistic-missile submarine USS Alaska (SSBN 732) is the winner of the Battenberg Cup, recognizing outstanding achievements over the course of 2014.

    Adm. Phillip Davidson, commander of U.S. Fleet Forces Command, offered his congratulations to the crew. “Every Alaska Sailor should be proud of their record of sustained excellence and superior teamwork. Bravo Zulu.”

    The Battenberg Cup is awarded annually to the best all-around ship or submarine in the Atlantic Fleet on the accumulation of the crew's success.

    "We are truly honored to receive the cherished Battenberg Trophy for 2014,” said Cmdr. David Forman, commanding officer of Alaska’s Blue crew. “As the trophy was originally intended to do back in 1905, Alaska's superior performance is a testament to the talent and dedication of her enlisted crew.”

    Though other submarines have received the award before, Alaska is the first SSBN to win the cup since the award’s inception in 1905.

    “We are also greatly humbled to be the first ballistic missile submarine to earn this distinctive recognition. With continued pride, the fine men of Alaska will continue to provide safe, secure, effective and survivable strategic deterrence on our next patrol," said Forman.

    In 2014, USS Alaska participated in numerous strategic exercises, supported midshipman operations and prospective commanding officer and executive officer operations.

    Additionally, Alaska won the Battle Efficiency Award and was also awarded the 2014 Retention Excellence Award. For the second consecutive year, a junior officer from Alaska was selected as the Submarine Squadron 20 Junior Officer of the Year.

    "The standard that the crew maintains on a daily basis is the only reason that we were nominated and selected for the Battenberg Cup,” said Master Chief Yeoman Dave Wright, Chief of the Boat Alaska (Blue). “The chiefs and officers are extremely fortunate to be working with such a talented group of men. The relentless dedication and superior performance the crew displays daily is the reason Alaska continues to be successful at defending our nation through strategic deterrence."

    Alaska is the fourth U.S. Navy ship to be named for the State of Alaska and the seventh of 18 Ohio-class submarines. USS Alaska was commissioned January 25, 1986.



    Date Taken: 05.18.2015
    Date Posted: 05.19.2015 16:14
    Story ID: 163827
    Location: KINGS BAY, GA, US 

    Web Views: 1,511
    Downloads: 0
    Podcast Hits: 0