News Icon

News: Academy names recipient of TD White Award

Courtesy Story

UNITED STATES AIR FORCE ACADEMY, Colo. - The U.S. Air Force Academy has selected Natalie W. Crawford, Senior Fellow, RAND Corporation, and Professor, Pardee RAND Graduate School, as the latest recipient of the Academy’s Thomas D. White National Defense Award.

Crawford has been a long-term supporter of the Air Force Academy and was instrumental in establishing an important long-term relationship between RAND and the Academy.

She has worked at RAND for more than 40 years, during which she served for nine years as vice president and director of RAND Project Air Force. She has deep, substantive technical and operational knowledge and experience in areas such as conventional weapons, attack and surveillance avionics, fighter and bomber aircraft performance, aircraft survivability, electronic combat, theater missile defense, force modernization, space systems and capabilities, and nonkinetic operations. She has been a member of the Air Force Scientific Advisory Board since 1988, and was its vice chairman in 1990 and co-chairman from 1996 to 1999.

Crawford has also been a tireless advocate for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) as a critical component of our force development.

The Thomas D. White Award is presented annually to a U.S. citizen who has contributed significantly to U.S. national defense, according to the award's fact sheet. A plaque is displayed in Arnold Hall with names of annual winners, who in past years have included Bob Hope, Sen. Barry Goldwater, Dr. Condoleezza Rice and Sen. John Glenn.

A date for presentation of the T.D. White Award to its latest recipient has not been finalized.

Web Views

Podcast Hits

Public Domain Mark
This work, Academy names recipient of TD White Award, is free of known copyright restrictions under U.S. copyright law.

Date Taken:02.08.2013

Date Posted:02.12.2013 14:53


More Like This

  • With the recent movement of personnel in Bravo Battery, 3rd Battalion 2nd Air Defense Artillery, the task for Air and Missile Defense (AMD) training has been taken over by Spc. Joseph Cantu, a Tactical Control Assistant (TCA) for Bravo Battery’s Engagement Control Station (ECS) Crew 4. When Fire Control Platoon Leader 1st Lt.  Mary Jocelyn moved from Battery Tactical Control Officer (TCO) to Battalion Tactical Director (TD) in the Information Coordination Central (ICC), a few select individuals were required to fill the void. Cantu was an obvious choice as the “Battery trainer.”
  • On the heels of the Afghan National Security Forces Crew Chief Academy’s first graduation, the ANSF Air Assault Academy opened its doors during a ceremony, March 6 at Bagram Airfield.
  • Air Force Senior Master Sgt. Randall “Rand” Kuenzi has a clear image in his mind of what military heritage means to him.
  • Being one of two living Medal of Honor recipients, Sgt. 1st Class Leroy A. Petry  has been headlining the media since being  awarded the nation’s highest military honor by President Obama  at the White House on July 12.


  • Army
  • Marines
  • Navy
  • Air Force
  • Coast Guard
  • National Guard




  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Youtube
  • Flickr