

## DEPARTMENT OF THE ARMY CORPS OF ENGINEERS, CHICAGO DISTRICT 231 SOUTH LASALLE STREET, SUITE 1500 CHICAGO IL 60604

September 26, 2024

Planning Branch Planning, Programs & Project Delivery Division

Dear Recipient:

The U.S Army Corps of Engineers (USACE), Chicago District, is releasing for public review the Draft Environmental Assessment (EA) for the Chicago Harbor Breakwater Repair, Cook County, Illinois as required under the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) of 1969, as amended. The Draft EA evaluates the potential effects of stabilizing Chicago Harbor's breakwaters by grouting under the concrete cap of the exterior breakwater and encapsulating the shore arm extension breakwater with stone, restoring it to its design height.

The 30-day public review period will be held from September 27, 2024, through October 27, 2024. As part of the public review period, USACE would appreciate any comments or concerns you might have associated with this work. Comments could be made on any potential effects to environmental and cultural resources of the proposed action. The Draft EA is available at the following location: <u>https://www.lrd.usace.army.mil/Mission/Public-Review-Approved-Plans/Category/24222/</u>.

A Draft Finding of No Significant Impact (FONSI) has been prepared to accompany the Draft EA. The Draft FONSI concludes that grouting and encapsulating the existing breakwaters does not significantly affect the quality of the human environment.

Following the public review period and USACE review of comments received, the District Engineer will make a final decision regarding the necessity of preparing an Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) for the proposed action. Based on the preliminary analyses completed to date, it does not appear that the preferred alternative will result in significant impacts which would require the preparation of an EIS.

Comments regarding the proposed action may be submitted via email or mail. Mailed comments should be sent to the attention of Ryan Johnson (CELRC-PDL-E) at the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, 231 South LaSalle Street, Suite 1500, Chicago, IL 60604. Emailed comments should be sent to <u>ryan.a.johnson@usace.army.mil</u>. Comments should be postmarked or emailed by October 27, 2024.

Sincerely,

BUCARO.DAVID Digitally signed by BUCARO.DAVID.F.1245178677 F.1245178677 Date: 2024.09.26 16:09:39 -05'00'

David F. Bucaro, P.E., PMP, WRCP Chief, Planning Branch Chicago District

Enclosure: Distribution List

Chicago Harbor Exterior Breakwater and Shore Arm Rubble Mound Encapsulation NOA Letter Enclosure 1 – Distribution List

Agencies Ms. Elizabeth Pelloso U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

U.S. Coast Guard

Mr. Kraig McPeek U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service

Mr Shawn Citron U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service

Mr. Darren Gove Illinois Environmental Protection Agency

Ms. C.J. Wallace Illinois State Historic Preservation Office

Mr. Cody Eskew Illinois Department of Natural Resources

Mr. Bradley Hayes Illinois Department of Natural Resources

Ms. Natalie Phelps Finnie Illinois Department of Natural Resources

Mr. Loren Wobig Illinois Department of Natural Resources

Ms. Brittany Strong Chicago Office of Emergency Management & Communications

Ms. Kari Steele Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Mr. Kerl LaJeune Public Building Commission of Chicago

Ms. Ciere Boatright Chicago Department of Planning and Development

Mr. Jason Lach Chicago Fire Department **Elected Officials** Governor JB Pritzker

Senator Tammy Duckworth U.S. Senate

Senator Dick Durbin U.S. Senate

Representative Danny Davis U.S. House of Representatives

Alderman Brendan Reilly Chicago City Council

Stakeholders Great Lakes Boating Federation

Mr. Scott Reimer Underwater Archaeological Society of Chicago

Mr. Dan Russell The Chicago Harbor Safety Committee

Mr. David Brezina The Chicago Harbor Safety Committee

Mr. Justin Lampert American Waterways Operators

Mr. Bradley Trammell American Waterways Operators

Ms. Lynn Muench American Waterways Operators

National Material Trading LLC

Ms. Mary Barton Alliance for the Great Lakes

**Tribal Organizations** Chairman Kenneth Meshigaud Hannahville Potawatomi Tribal Council

Ms. Diane Hunter Miami Tribe of Oklahoma Chicago Harbor Exterior Breakwater and Shore Arm Rubble Mound Encapsulation NOA Letter Enclosure 1 – Distribution List

Chief Douglas Lankford Miami Tribe of Oklahoma

Chairperson Joseph Rupnick Prairie Band Potawatomi Tribal Council

Mr. Raphael Wahwassuck Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation

Mr. Pam Wesley Kickapoo Tribe of Oklahoma

Chairman Darwin Kaskaske Kickapoo Tribe of Oklahoma

Mr. David Grignon Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin

Chairperson Gena Kakkak Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin Mr. Blake Norton Citizen Potawatomi Executive Council

Chairperson John Barrett Citizen Potawatomi Executive Council

Chairperson James Crawford Forest County Potawatomi Executive Council

Mr. Olivia Nunway Forest County Potawatomi Executive Council

Chairperson Regina Gasco-Bentley Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians, Michigan

Ms. Melissa Wiatrolik Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians, Michigan

Chairperson Gail Cheatham Kickapoo Tribe of Indians of the Kickapoo Reservation in Kansas