Maintenance window scheduled to begin at February 14th 2200 est. until 0400 est. February 15th


Forgot Password?

    Defense Visual Information Distribution Service Logo

    Airmen Compete in Bismark Marathon



    Story by Airman 1st Class Alexander Nottingham 

    5th Bomb Wing Public Affairs

    Seventeen Airmen were awarded an Air Force Marathon medal by base leadership on Nov. 15, 2022.

    The Airmen participated in the Bismarck Marathon as a substitution to the Air Force Marathon held on Sept. 17, 2022, which was at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio. The Air Force Marathon Officiated the runner's times and awarded them each an Air Force Marathon medal.

    “Beginning on May 18, 2022, a group of runners came together weekly at Bud Ebert park with the goal of ‘running farther than you have ever run before,’“ said Capt. Mark Bradshaw, 5th Bomb Wing chaplain, and organizer of the Minot marathon group. “Throughout the summer we became a supportive community and discovered the interplay between distance running and the pillars of Comprehensive Airman Fitness.”

    Runners from Minot AFB trained all year with each other in the Minot Marathon group; growing not only in strength but in camaraderie. The hard work of these Airmen led to all participants earning an Air Force Marathon medal.

    “I trained for four months for the event so that I could challenge myself to be a better runner and attempt to achieve a sub 3-hour time,“ said SrA Benjamin Smith, a runner at the event who ran a qualifying Boston Marathon time.

    The achievements of each Airman and the obstacles that they overcame demonstrates what it means to adopt and sustain healthy behaviors needed to enhance health and well-being in not only their Air Force career but in all future endeavors. Listed below are the Airman that participated:


    Amn Forrest Anciso, 91MW, 91 MMXS.

    Half Marathon:

    SrA Miya Ray Alger, 5 BW, 5 OMRS.

    SrA Tai Bui, 5 BW, 5 OMRS.

    A1C Ella Koleen Salita, 5 BW, 5 FSS.

    A1C Sayri “Daniela” Urias Jimenez , 91 MW, 891 MSFS.

    Ch, Capt Sean Russell, (91 OG chaplain) 5 BW/HC.

    Full Marathon:

    Ch, Capt Mark Bradshaw, 5 BW, 5 BW/HC

    A1C Alexander Buexjuahi-Silis, 5 BW, 5 MUNS.

    SrA Ashton Burton, 91 MW, 791 MSFS.

    Raquel Gladue, Civ, 5 BW, 5 HCOS.

    A1C Samuel Lalawi, 5 BW, 5 HCOS

    A1C Parker Lund, 5 BW, 5 MXS

    SrA Joseph Purser 91 MW, 791 MXS

    SrA Brandon Royce, 5 BW, 5 CES

    SrA Benjamin Smith, 5BW, 5 OMRS

    A1C Chris Van Asten, 5 BW, 5 FSS

    SSgt Shamar Young, 5 BW, 5 HCOS



    Date Taken: 11.18.2022
    Date Posted: 12.02.2022 14:41
    Story ID: 434048
    Location: MINOT AFB, ND, US

    Web Views: 10
    Downloads: 0