Maintenance window scheduled to begin at February 14th 2200 est. until 0400 est. February 15th


Forgot Password?

    Or login with Facebook

    Fort Lee Civilian Spotlight: Jennifer Lovato

    Fort Lee Civilian Spotlight:  Jennifer Lovato

    Photo By Terrance Bell | Jennifer Lovato is an operations specialist with Delta Company, Army Logistics...... read more read more



    Story by Terrance Bell 

    U.S. Army Garrison Fort Lee Public Affairs

    Hometown: Philadelphia

    Position: Operations specialist

    Place of duty: Delta Company, Army Logistics University Support Battalion

    Duties: “I take care of the admin needs – processing arriving and departing Soldiers, resolving personnel issues, and keeping track of training records – for all of the students and permanent party personnel assigned to Delta Company.”

    Time in civil service: 14 months

    Military time: A combined 8 years on active duty and in the National Guard

    What you love most about your job: “The people I work with. They were very welcoming when I first started. They took me in like I was family.”

    Your chief motivation: “I like helping to solve peoples’ problems. It give me satisfaction for a job well done.”

    Your greatest achievement: “I would have to say my family. I have three great kids and a wonderful husband, who is a wonderful provider and a great cook for us.”

    Your role models: “I had a first sergeant (1st Sgt. Sharon Fuselier) whom I really admired. She had a rough exterior but, deep down inside, she was really kind, understanding and compassionate.”

    What you expect out of leaders: “Understanding, compassion and having my back.”

    Do you volunteer? “I’m a Girl Scout leader (Troop 5391) at Fort Lee. It’s a selfless job. I have led a troop in the past, but now my youngest is much older so she doesn’t like to ‘troop’ as much. I still, however, take care of all of the paperwork and do things like setting up cookie-booth sales, etc.”

    One life-changing event: “Our move to the Fort Lee area. We left a support system and came to a place where we didn’t know anyone. It was like starting over. If you have kids, you are whipping them away from their friends and everything familiar to them. It’s life-changing.”

    Where you would most like to live: “Someplace warm or Germany.”

    What would surprise people about you: “That I’m an introvert, and that I like to have my lazy days and do nothing.”

    One person you most admire (outside of immediate family members): “My mother-in-law. She does a lot for us. She’ll drive 12 hours to come and spend the week with us, and she’s getting up there in age. She and her husband are very supportive of our family.”

    Your dream house: “I’m living in it.”

    Pet peeves: I don’t like when people bounce their leg or use the expression, ‘um … ,’ when they’re speaking.”

    What you most dislike: “Talking behind my back. I would say if there’s an issue, come to me. Come directly to the source.”

    Favorite book or movie: “‘The Breakfast Club.’ I’ve seen it 20-plus times and so have my kids. I can quote some of the lines. It was kind of a coming-of-age movie. The first time I saw it, I was like 12 or 13 years old.”

    Worst fear: “I don’t like snakes.”

    Your greatest extravagance: “Weekend getaways with my husband.”

    The talent you would most like to have: “To be a better public speaker.”

    Where you see yourself in five years: “I’d like to be retired and living on the beach somewhere.”



    Date Taken: 08.13.2019
    Date Posted: 08.13.2019 16:19
    Story ID: 335757
    Location: PHILADELPHIA, PA, US 

    Web Views: 17
    Downloads: 0
    Podcast Hits: 0