Maintenance window scheduled to begin at February 14th 2200 est. until 0400 est. February 15th


Forgot Password?

    Defense Visual Information Distribution Service Logo

    Pa. Guard members receive awards for heroism

    Pa. Guard members receive awards for heroism

    Photo By Maj. Travis Mueller | Soldiers with the 28th Expeditionary Combat Aviation Brigade and Eastern ARNG Aviation...... read more read more



    Story by Capt. Travis Mueller 

    28th Expeditionary Combat Aviation Brigade

    HARRISBURG, Pa. – Soldiers with the 28th Expeditionary Combat Aviation Brigade and Eastern Army National Guard Aviation Training Site, as well as rescue technicians with the Pennsylvania Helicopter Aquatic Rescue Team, received heroism awards during a ceremony at the Sheraton Harrisburg Hershey Hotel, April 27, 2019.

    Lacey Coleman, with Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation, presented the Sikorsky Rescue Award to UH-60 Black Hawk helicopter crew members who performed lifesaving rescues during flooding in Pennsylvania and after Hurricane Florence in South Carolina last year.

    Charles Weaver, with Airbus Helicopters, presented the Airbus Award of Valor to UH-72 Lakota helicopter crew members who provided reconnaissance and aerial command and control in support of the rescue missions in Pennsylvania.

    “It was nice for Sikorsky and Airbus to send representatives up here to recognize what we do,” said 1st Sgt. Frank Palfrey, a Black Hawk crew chief who participated in a rescue mission in South Carolina after Hurricane Florence. “The award is nice, but for me it was really about helping people.”

    On Aug. 13-14, 2018, Black Hawk and Lakota crews performed multiple lifesaving rescues in Benton and Towanda, Pennsylvania after flooding impacted the area. The effort resulted in hoist rescues of 19 people and several household pets.

    On Sept. 20, 2018, a Black Hawk crew performed a rescue for a couple in need of medical attention in Mullins, South Carolina after flooding from Hurricane Florence surrounded their home.

    Black Hawk crew members awarded for their actions were:
    Chief Warrant Officer 3 William Arters
    Mr. Anthony Beers
    Staff Sgt. Bryce Behmyer
    Mr. George Drees
    Maj. George Giles
    Maj. Greg Gobel
    1st Lt. Matthew Groff
    Chief Warrant Officer 3 Richard Hill
    Chief Warrant Officer 4 Keith Hogan
    Staff Sgt. Rebecca Holman
    Command Sgt. Maj. Jeff Huttle
    Mr. Oren Kauffman
    Mr. Darrin Kephart
    Sgt. Donald Mackenzie
    Sgt. 1st Class Sean Merrill
    Sgt. 1st Class Michael Moy
    1st Sgt. Frank Palfrey
    Chief Warrant Officer 4 Jake Russell
    Chief Warrant Officer 5 Joe Sandbakken
    Lt. Col. Daniel Schwartz
    Sgt. 1st Class Bryan Shaw
    Staff Sgt. Michael Simmers
    Sgt. Matthew Terchanik
    Chief Warant Officer 4 Mark Ulsh
    Mr. Ryan Walt

    Lakota crew members awarded for their actions were:
    Chief Warrant Officer 2 Dave Berry
    Maj. Ernie Carlson
    Staff Sgt. John Goodwin
    Chief Warrant Officer 3 Jason Jakubowitz

    The ceremony took place during Safety Stand-down 2019. The event brought together aviators across the Pennsylvania Army National Guard, including flight operations personnel, air traffic controllers and unmanned aerial system crews, to re-focus themselves on safety and survival. The 28th ECAB halted usual training activities to ensure maximum attendance. Over 400 Soldiers attended the event, which featured presentations from industry experts as well as leaders within the Pennsylvania National Guard.



    Date Taken: 04.28.2019
    Date Posted: 04.28.2019 21:24
    Story ID: 319823
    Location: HARRISBURG, PA, US 

    Web Views: 878
    Downloads: 0