News Icon

News: 92nd MP Co. named Army’s best

Story by Staff Sgt. Christina TurnipseedSmall RSS Icon

92nd MP Company named Army’s best Staff Sgt. Christina Turnipseed

Sgt. Maj. Dawn Rippelmeyer, left, the provost marshal general sergeant major, 1st Sgt. Timothy Bombard, 92nd Military Police first sergeant, Spc. Marcel Rasokat, 92nd MP Company guidon bearer, Maj. Gen. David E. Quantock, the U.S. Army provost marshal general, and Capt. Nicholas Yetman, 92nd MP Co. commander, pose with the 2013 J.P. Holland Award, which was presented to Soldiers from the 92nd MP Co. by Quantock and Rippelmeyer during a ceremony April 17 in Baumholder, Germany. (Photo by Staff Sgt. Christina J. Turnipseed, 18th MP Bde., 21st TSC Public Affairs)

BAUMHOLDER, Germany - One of the 18th Military Police companies has been deemed the best MP company in the Department of the Army.

On April 17, 130 Solders from the 92nd MP Co. were given commander coins by Maj. Gen. David E. Quantock, U.S. Army provost marshal general and a native of New York, and Sgt. Maj. Dawn Rippelmeyer, provost marshal general sergeant major and a native of Minnesota, for winning the Brig. Gen. Jeremiah P. Holland Award. The award honors the most outstanding military police unit, company-size or smaller each fiscal year.

After his retirement in 1969, Holland, a MP officer, began to sponsor this award to promote esprit de corps and professionalism in MP units throughout the Army.

“The award should be based on total accomplishments of the unit, encompassing every phase of activity bearing directly on mission accomplishment,” wrote Holland in a letter to the U.S. Army.

“This year, the (Brig. Gen.) Jeremiah P. Holland Award selection board considered eight outstanding military police companies and detachments that included combat support and internment and resettlement military police companies and a headquarters and headquarters detachment from Criminal Investigation Command. Despite fierce competition, the accomplishments and performance of the 92nd Military Police Company distinguished it as the Army's best military police company for 2013,” said Quantack.

One of the most important factors in winning the award was outstanding leadership, according to Capt. Nicholas R Yetman, 92nd MP Co. commander and a native of Baton Rouge, La.

“The most important factor in winning the J.P. Holland Award is the leadership of the young officers and (noncommissioned officers) in the company and the hard work of our Soldiers,” Yetman explained.

The Soldiers were grateful to have Quantock and Rippelmeyer make the trip to Baumholder from the Pentagon to award the unit in person.

“It’s exciting,” said Spc. Daveya Allen, a native of Los Angeles. “It didn’t feel like a big deal at first, but now it kind of feels like a big deal.”

Other Soldiers echoed her sentiments.

“It’s nice today being able to come out and receive a coin from the general,” said Staff Sgt. Yolisma Cisneros, a native of Midland, Texas. “I have never received a coin from a general before. The recognition the unit got for their hard work is awesome.”

Although 92nd walked away with a trophy, coins and recognition, they never planned to win.

“First Sgt. Bombard and I didn’t start a program to win the award,” said Yetman. “We wanted to build the best company we could that focused on taking care of Soldiers, families and accomplishing any mission given to the best of our ability.”


Connected Media
Images92nd MP Company named...
Sgt. Maj. Dawn Rippelmeyer, left, the provost marshal...

Web Views

Podcast Hits

Public Domain Mark
This work, 92nd MP Co. named Army’s best, by SSG Christina Turnipseed, identified by DVIDS, is free of known copyright restrictions under U.S. copyright law.

Date Taken:04.21.2014

Date Posted:04.24.2014 08:47

Location:BW, DE



Hometown:MIDLAND, TX, US


  • Army
  • Marines
  • Navy
  • Air Force
  • Coast Guard
  • National Guard




  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Youtube
  • Flickr