News Icon

News: 35th Signal soldiers compete for NCO and Soldier of the Year

Story by Capt. Devon ThomasSmall RSS IconSubscriptions Icon

35th Signal soldiers compete for NCO and Soldier of the Year Capt. Devon Thomas

Spc. James M. Sutton, of Raleigh, N.C., fires the M16 rifle during the 35th Signal Brigade Noncommissioned Officer and Soldier of the Year Competition. Sutton was named the 35th Signal Brigade Soldier of the Year at a ceremony on Fort Gordon, Sept. 6, 2013.

FORT GORDON, Ga. - The 35th Signal Brigade held an annual Noncommissioned Officer and Soldier of the Year Competition from 3-6 September on Fort Gordon., Ga.

Colonel Robert L. Edmonson II, the 35th Signal Brigade commander, and Command Sergeant Major Perry D. Summerville, the brigade command sergeant major, presented the Army Commendation Medal and a trophy to each of the winners during a ceremony Sept. 6 at Fort Gordon's Signal Theater.

Soldiers from the 50th Expeditionary Signal Battalion based in Fort Bragg, N.C., Headquarters and Headquarters Company, 35th Signal Brigade, and the 63rd ESB from Fort Gordon participated in the event.

Lion Brigade soldiers were tested in Army Warrior Tasks and Drills, completed a land navigation course, fired a M9 pistol and M16 rifle, completed the Army Physical Fitness Test, and wrote an essay. The final event was the NCO/Soldier of the Year Board, where participants answered Army doctrine questions to a panel of First Sergeant and Command Sergeants Major.

Sgt. Christopher J. Preachers, a multichannel transmission systems operator assigned to Alpha Company, 50th ESB, won the Brigade NCO of the Year Competition.

“The competition was outstanding because it tested the total Soldier concept,” said Preachers, a native of Edgefield, S.C., and graduate of Strum Thurmond High School in Johnston, S.C. “The participants have already proven themselves through Brigade NCO and Soldier of the Quarter Boards, and the competition was especially challenging because we had to study the new evolving doctrine of the Army.”

The most challenging event for Preachers was land navigation.
“The terrain and heat was a challenge in the event,” said Preachers. “You have to be mentally and physically tough to keep your legs moving and mind focus on accomplishing the task.”

Spc. James M. Sutton, a power-generation equipment repairer assigned to Headquarters and Headquarters Company, 35th Signal Brigade, Fort Gordon, is the Brigade Soldier of the Year. Sutton, of Raleigh, N.C., sees winning the board as a spring board for his future.

“Competing at this level and beyond is a building block as far as experience is concerned,” said Sutton. “I hope this serves as an inspiration for my peers to help them advance.”

Preachers and Sutton will compete in the upcoming XVIII Airborne Corps Noncommissioned Officer and Soldier of the Year Board at Fort Bragg.

Connected Media
Images35th Signal soldiers...
Sgt. Christopher J. Preachers, a native of Edgefield,...
Images35th Signal soldiers...
Spc. James M. Sutton, of Raleigh, N.C., fires the M16...

Web Views

Podcast Hits

Public Domain Mark
This work, 35th Signal soldiers compete for NCO and Soldier of the Year, by CPT Devon Thomas, identified by DVIDS, is free of known copyright restrictions under U.S. copyright law.

Date Taken:09.06.2013

Date Posted:09.16.2013 13:12

Location:FORT GORDON, GA, USGlobe


Hometown:RALEIGH, NC, US

More Like This

  • U.S. Army Sgt. Manuel Logan, petroleum quality surveillance laboratory non-commissioned officer in charge, Company A, 404th Aviation Support Battalion, 4th Combat Aviation Brigade, 4th Infantry Division, won the 2010 American Petroleum Institute award for Tactical Petroleum soldier, announced March 23. Logan is nearing the end of a year-long deployment as part of Operation Enduring Freedom 10-11. He is the first U.S. servicemember to provide fuel testing capabilities in Regional Command-North
According to his commander, Capt. Lindsay Ryan, Logan facilitated the training, testing and certification procedures to petroleum laboratory specialists operating petroleum quality analysis systems at various locations within the 4th CAB’s area of responsibility. He performed quality assurance and surveillance for over 35 million gallons of fuel in support of RC-N.
  • Sgt. 1st Class Julie Hampton, 157th Infantry Brigade, and Spc. Ashley Killian, 188th Infantry Brigade, defeated 18 Soldiers to win the First Army Division East's Non-commissioned Officer and Soldier of the Year titles, May 6, at Fort Knox, Ky. These winners mark the first time the division has hailed two female competitors in the annual competition.
  • Senior enlisted leaders of the 177th Armored Brigade recently facilitated the Audie Murphy board at the Camp Shelby Joint Forces Training Center to give outstanding soldiers within First Army the opportunity to join the Sergeant Audie Murphy Club.
  • The 704th Military Intelligence Brigade inducted new NCOs into the corps during a ceremony Sept. 12.


  • Army
  • Marines
  • Navy
  • Air Force
  • Coast Guard
  • National Guard




  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Youtube
  • Flickr